We'll tackle any film foreign or otherwise, paying exclusive attention to Arthouse, Indie & Cult features. Selected up to the minute News will also be given prominence.


August 29, 2009

Roger & Me








Director - Michael Moore

Genre - Documentary/Comedy/Drama


This is Michael Moore before Columbine happened. Before 9/11. We realized all at once when we viewed this documentary, Moore's appeal lies in being contemporary. In being right in the eye of the hurricane when all hell has broken loose. Maybe it is partly our fault for watching this too late but we feel that the subject matter is itself too personal to the filmmaker and not at all to us. As usual, Moore goes after a big corporation and this time the target's on Roger Smith, chairman of General Motors. Roger is depicted like a demonic, soulless prick out to rob the poor out of their jobs in order to fill his own coffers. When Moore takes on the United States of America and paints it as Satan, the entertainment level is lava-hot. This Roger guy and our own boss don't differ much.

2.5 STARS!

All about Roger & Me

August 22, 2009

The Soloist





Director - Joe Wright

Genre - Biography/Drama/Music


A homeless person to most of us is like an unsightly moth which fly into our field of vision uninvited and unwelcome. How many of us actually ponder how these street dwellers come to be that way? Joe Wright who directed the wonderful 'Atonement' explores this forgotten colony by focusing the tale on one Nathaniel Ayers. A child prodigy of cello, Ayers seemed like a musical miracle waiting to ascend the starlit skies. Accepted to Juilliard and ready to take on the world, he is instead struck down by an imbalanced mind. Steve Lopez, the writer for Los Angeles Times just stumbles on Mr Ayers one fine afternoon and a friendship which empowers both of these opposites of society unfolds. Foxx has shown time and again that his talent in acting is no fluke. This is another film in which he literally embodies the character. Based on a true story.

4 STARS!

All about The Soloist

August 17, 2009

YAM Issue 005

Here it is again, the one and only YAM Magazine (yetanothermagazine) Issue 005 August edition from Peru! Thanks Amy! For fans of Yu Aoi (one of the lead actress from Shunji Iwai's 'Hana and Alice'), check out this latest issue now for her cover story. Here's the PDF link.

August 14, 2009

City of Life and Death





Director
- Lu Chuan

Genre - Drama/History/War

It is said that evil can only manifest itself when we do nothing to stop it. When we simply allow for it to happen whether in our lives or in the lives of others. The Japanese soldiers who invaded Nanking justified their horrific acts by claiming pride and duty towards their beloved country. Barbaric and without mercy, these troops of doom descended upon the city like the worst nightmare ever conjured by humans. Imagine an army of serial killers and rapists wreaking havoc without being reined in and you'll get an idea. Kudos and hats off to the director for having the courage to bring this shameful blemish in world history to life. Unflinching, painful and without apologies.

4.5 STARS!

All about City of Life and Death

August 9, 2009

Ho Yuhang's 'At The End of Daybreak' Trailer

We always thought that Ho Yuhang is one of Malaysia's promising independent directors, and indeed he is. See how we liked about his 'Rain Dogs'. Check out his latest film 'At The End of Daybreak' trailer below, and this film is also about to become the first Malaysian film ever to screen in competition at Locarno.

'New York, I Love You' Official Trailer


Wow. Just wow!

'New York, I Love You' hits theaters in limited release October 16, 2009.

August 4, 2009

Park Chan-Wook's Short Film 'Simpan'

Here's a short film Park made in 1999. Shot in color/black & white, approximately 26 minutes, called 'Simpan' (Judgement). And yes, we loved it. Enjoy!

August 1, 2009

The Escapist





Director - Rupert Wyatt

Genre - Thriller


The makers of this film tried very hard to put a distance between their baby and others that have come before it. This is all well and good. Except, they tried so many tricks that their movie came out wanting and unsatisfactory. In a wrap, what we saw wasn't something which could match 'The Shawshank Redemption', but rather more like 'Prison Break' given a slightly artsy, independent reinvention. We feel that Brian Cox does not have the kind of star quality that maybe an actor like Philip Seymour Hoffman possesses in spades and whom could well save this film from being just a silent splash in the ocean.

2.5 STARS!

All about The Escapist