We'll tackle any film foreign or otherwise, paying exclusive attention to Arthouse, Indie & Cult features. Selected up to the minute News will also be given prominence.


December 27, 2009

Mad Men: Season 1 & 2


TV Series: Season 1 & 2
Genre - Drama

Put away your Playstation and Ipod. Take a breather and let 'Mad Men' take you to a place time had made special. All the Awards showered continuously on this Series are indeed justified as the writing and performances are just a class above the competition. Jon Hamm especially deserves to be singled out as he is why we watch this, without a doubt. He has a way about him which makes you want to like him in spite of his sort of cad-like character. His eyes - when he looks at someone in anger, it's as though he could look right into their souls. This Series actually made us wish we'd lived in that era. It's just such a great escape from modern life. An American episodic production at its best.

5 STARS!

All about Mad Men

December 16, 2009

YAM December Issue


Guys, check out YAM (yetanothermagazine) 7th Issue for special coverage on Stockholm Film Festival, including a Q&A with award-winning film 'Sin Nombre' director Cary Fukunaga about the film and many more!

December 13, 2009

Star Trek




Director - J.J. Abrams

Genre - Action/Adventure/Sci-Fi


Will this revive the franchise and give Trekkies the world over woodies? Well, we're not Trekkies but this movie is a brave attempt at boldly going there. It certainly piqued our interests, what with the shiny new starships, unembarrassing uniform (the old ones looked like they were designed for cyclists entering Tour De France) and better looking casts. What it lacked though, was a great story. Did anyone notice the similarity between the storyline here and Season 4 of Lost? J.J. Abrams must have run out of ideas because it certainly killed our participation to a large extend. In any case, this is an introduction to a (we hope) better film in the horizon.

3 STARS!

All about Star Trek

December 3, 2009

Rescue Dawn








Director - Werner Herzog

Genre - Action/Adventure/Biography/War


This is Werner Herzog attempting a somewhat 'Hollywood' film. It has swelling music, a big star none other than Mr. Batman himself and some action scenes. Based on a true story, Christian Bale plays a U.S. soldier captured by the enemy when his plane is shot down in Laos. His spirit of never giving up no matter the circumstances is exemplary and we see him getting in all kinds of squalid and horrible conditions. Looking malnourished and haggard as he did in 'The Machinist', Bale goes through the physical and emotional aspects of a prisoner with flying colors. Too bad the film suffered from a case of uncertain identity. It is too slow and tedious to be an action picture and too 'Hollywood dictated' to be one of Herzog's signature films.

2.5 STARS!

All about Rescue Dawn

November 30, 2009

Departures








Director - Yôjirô Takita

Genre - Drama


In all honesty, this is a hard film to like. Death and all its romantic connotations did not manifest itself in this film. Instead, we are treated (or subjected to, depending on your poison) to a lesson on life and what it means to be alive, as opposed to being dead as a door nail. Most Japanese, you will realize as the movie goes on, have a great respect for the departed. To them, a beautiful ritual honoring their dearly missed brings them peace and closure. The leading man in the story discovered this truth in its due course and we must admit, we did as well. Though, as we pointed out. With all the coffins and carcasses appearing with unrestrained abandon, this is no walk in the park.

3.5 STARS!

All about Departures

November 22, 2009

Santa Sangre









Director
- Alejandro Jodorowsky

Genre - Drama/Horror/Mystery/Thriller


Out of the grid and right on the brink of madness, this film sticks out like a sixth toe on a foot. But unlike an unwanted and unappreciated appendage, it is oddly appealing. You just can't bring yourself to look away. The acting reminds you of a bad Bollywood film with all the overdone theatrics thrown in and the story seems like it was written by a person residing in a mental facility.These are things that shouldn't work in a movie but somehow, through the director's keen grasp of the language of film, it does. Truly a sidewalk of freakish pleasure. Care to take a stroll on its uneven pavement?

5 STARS!

All about Santa Sangre

November 12, 2009

Dexter: Season 3








TV Series - Season 3

Genre - Crime/Drama/Mystery/Thriller


The light has gone out from one of telly's greatest finds. We are still in mourning for the demise of this series in regards to its previously phenomenal writing and plots which never failed to shock and give us endless goosebumps. In this instalment though, Dexter Morgan the monster battling forever with his 'Dark Passenger' is suddenly replaced with a softer, more sentimental version prone to bouts of self-doubts and needy moments of which we couldn't bear to watch. Even the jokes which made the first and second Seasons such fun to us are almost non-existent here. We're also peeved that there are no worthy rival here to challenge Dexter's supremacy in the killer's jungle. Now that's the biggest mistake.

2.5 STARS!

All about Dexter

November 9, 2009

Doubt










Director - John Patrick Shanley

Genre - Drama/Mystery

Philip Seymour Hoffman and Meryl Streep spar in this performance-driven drama. We get a double dose of the legendary cinema diva, madame Streep and Hoffman, who more than holds his own against the scene-stealin' queen. What could be better? Hoffman plays a priest who gets in the way of Streep's mother hen of a nun in every way. When word got out that the priest may not be what he seems, the mother hen must protect her chicks at all cost. Even if it means surrendering her beliefs and destroying the very foundation of her faith. Powerful but not overbearing.

3.5 STARS!

All about Doubt

October 27, 2009

Penelope








Director - Mark Palansky

Genre - Comedy/Fantasy/Romance


As fairy tales go, this isn't half bad. But then, fairy tales have a certain "been there, done before" curse which almost always takes away their appeal. Christina Ricci is a rich girl born with a pig's snout as a result of a witch's wrath. After numerous efforts to get her married off fail, James McAvoy turns up at the door unperturbed it seems by a life-sized, in the flesh version of Miss Piggy. Is McAvoy the dashing gentleman come to rescue our cute pork-pie or the big bad wolf who wants to blow her whole house down? Do you really need a bedtime story at your age? If the answer's yes then put on your pajamas and go bananas!

2.5 STARS!

All about Penelope

October 12, 2009

In The Mood For Love








Director - Wong Kar Wai

Genre - Drama/Romance


Wong Kar Wai has taken the plight of the rejected to the utmost extreme here. Tony Leung and Maggie Cheung play two lost souls abandoned by their respective spouses. They then find themselves confiding in each other, their bleedin' hearts laid bare in the grim, cavernous chasm of the unloved. Wong is a master in manipulating our emotions. Utilizing exquisitely compelling music, formidable performances and Doyle's ravishing cinematography, he has managed to tug at the pliant strings of our beating hearts. The period costumes and sets are first-rate, evoking a classy, unforgettable time.

5 STARS!

All about In The Mood For Love

October 9, 2009

YAM Issue 006


Check out our Peru friend Amy Wong's YAM Magazine (yetanothermagazine) Issue 006 October edition for her reviews on Inglorious Basterds, Mother and many more!

September 29, 2009

Brüno








Director - Larry Charles

Genre - Comedy


Comedy is actually very very hard to do. If you're Sacha Baron Cohen though, making people laugh appear to be what you were born to do in this world. Your god-given gift. We loved 'Borat' and had high hopes for this. Alas, lightning didn't strike twice and we ended up with some genuine laughs and some, not so. The fault lies in 'Brüno' being decidedly more staged than 'Borat' was. This is more of a film than 'Borat', with more scripted scenes and story arcs, which isn't necessary better. We feel robbed of the element of surprise here as it is more predictable than Cohen's last film. It feels like Cohen is channeling Adam Sandler with this. The fact that the whole film revolved mostly around gay jokes also didn't help. It gets really uncomfortable after awhile. Trust us.

2.5 STARS!

All about Brüno

September 21, 2009

Fight Club








Director - David Fincher

Genre - Crime/Drama/Thriller


Based on cult author Chuck Palahniuk's novel, this is a movie that will throw you violently out of your comfort zone and into a grungy, unhinged world. 'Matrix' was science fiction. This, horrifyingly, could actually happen in real life. Edward Norton and Brat Pitt both turned in edgy performances but it's Fincher who is the true star here, directing from a script that many directors might not even have the balls to attempt. Ballsy and rife with cynicism courtesy of Palahniuk's angst-ridden mind, this is a film which put Palahniuk's name on everyone's lips while firmly securing Fincher's place in the arena of cinema. Warning: may turn mild-mannered chaps into full blown terrorists or to a lesser extent, terribly fond of picking fights with close friends and people at work (the latter may only refer to us).

4 STARS!

All about Fight Club

September 14, 2009

Che: Part 1 & 2


Director - Steven Soderbergh
Genre - Biography/Drama/History/War

At 4 & half hours, this film which gives you a fly on the wall account on the life of Ernesto 'Che' Guevara and the struggles of a revolution require patience to get through. You may go into this thinking, "Whoopee doo! I'm gonna help myself to some Pringles and feast my eyes on this epic!" You'd be dead wrong. This is in fact so anti-epic and anti-Hollywood it feels as though Soderbergh consciously turned the genre on its head. Whatever traits we envisioned Che should have is displayed on the screen. Selfless, steadfast in his believes and ingrained with a fearless outlook on mortality, Soderbergh's 'Che' is the perfect embodiment of a socialist icon. What makes this film uniquely Soderbergh though is how he never lets legend and myth overcome the representation of Guevara. Reminder: Do not go into this expecting big-assed explosions spiraling up the sky with Guevara's handsome mug out of harm's way smokin' a cigar as well as 40 bad guys. Made using the 'Bolivian Diary' written by Guevara himself as a guide, this is perhaps the most accurate and unadorned cinematic portrayal of a revolutionary hero.

3.5 STARS!

All about Che: Part 1 & 2

September 7, 2009

Mongol








Director - Sergei Bodrov

Genre - Biography/Drama/Romance/War


Aye Caramba! Genghis Khan as a lover? We hope we won't live long enough to see a romantic movie about Saddam Hussein. Shudder. In this epic-wannabe film, Genghis Khan is shown as a compassionate weakling who gets bullied and trashed about since young yet unbelievably is able to gather at whim warriors who are willing to die for him. As his army of men grow larger and his love for a wife who is bedded by half of Mongolia deepens, we are left wondering, have we missed anything? More importantly, have the filmmakers taken on a mountain and settled on a hill instead?

2 STARS!

All about Mongol

August 29, 2009

Roger & Me








Director - Michael Moore

Genre - Documentary/Comedy/Drama


This is Michael Moore before Columbine happened. Before 9/11. We realized all at once when we viewed this documentary, Moore's appeal lies in being contemporary. In being right in the eye of the hurricane when all hell has broken loose. Maybe it is partly our fault for watching this too late but we feel that the subject matter is itself too personal to the filmmaker and not at all to us. As usual, Moore goes after a big corporation and this time the target's on Roger Smith, chairman of General Motors. Roger is depicted like a demonic, soulless prick out to rob the poor out of their jobs in order to fill his own coffers. When Moore takes on the United States of America and paints it as Satan, the entertainment level is lava-hot. This Roger guy and our own boss don't differ much.

2.5 STARS!

All about Roger & Me

August 22, 2009

The Soloist





Director - Joe Wright

Genre - Biography/Drama/Music


A homeless person to most of us is like an unsightly moth which fly into our field of vision uninvited and unwelcome. How many of us actually ponder how these street dwellers come to be that way? Joe Wright who directed the wonderful 'Atonement' explores this forgotten colony by focusing the tale on one Nathaniel Ayers. A child prodigy of cello, Ayers seemed like a musical miracle waiting to ascend the starlit skies. Accepted to Juilliard and ready to take on the world, he is instead struck down by an imbalanced mind. Steve Lopez, the writer for Los Angeles Times just stumbles on Mr Ayers one fine afternoon and a friendship which empowers both of these opposites of society unfolds. Foxx has shown time and again that his talent in acting is no fluke. This is another film in which he literally embodies the character. Based on a true story.

4 STARS!

All about The Soloist

August 17, 2009

YAM Issue 005

Here it is again, the one and only YAM Magazine (yetanothermagazine) Issue 005 August edition from Peru! Thanks Amy! For fans of Yu Aoi (one of the lead actress from Shunji Iwai's 'Hana and Alice'), check out this latest issue now for her cover story. Here's the PDF link.

August 14, 2009

City of Life and Death





Director
- Lu Chuan

Genre - Drama/History/War

It is said that evil can only manifest itself when we do nothing to stop it. When we simply allow for it to happen whether in our lives or in the lives of others. The Japanese soldiers who invaded Nanking justified their horrific acts by claiming pride and duty towards their beloved country. Barbaric and without mercy, these troops of doom descended upon the city like the worst nightmare ever conjured by humans. Imagine an army of serial killers and rapists wreaking havoc without being reined in and you'll get an idea. Kudos and hats off to the director for having the courage to bring this shameful blemish in world history to life. Unflinching, painful and without apologies.

4.5 STARS!

All about City of Life and Death

August 9, 2009

Ho Yuhang's 'At The End of Daybreak' Trailer

We always thought that Ho Yuhang is one of Malaysia's promising independent directors, and indeed he is. See how we liked about his 'Rain Dogs'. Check out his latest film 'At The End of Daybreak' trailer below, and this film is also about to become the first Malaysian film ever to screen in competition at Locarno.

'New York, I Love You' Official Trailer


Wow. Just wow!

'New York, I Love You' hits theaters in limited release October 16, 2009.

August 4, 2009

Park Chan-Wook's Short Film 'Simpan'

Here's a short film Park made in 1999. Shot in color/black & white, approximately 26 minutes, called 'Simpan' (Judgement). And yes, we loved it. Enjoy!

August 1, 2009

The Escapist





Director - Rupert Wyatt

Genre - Thriller


The makers of this film tried very hard to put a distance between their baby and others that have come before it. This is all well and good. Except, they tried so many tricks that their movie came out wanting and unsatisfactory. In a wrap, what we saw wasn't something which could match 'The Shawshank Redemption', but rather more like 'Prison Break' given a slightly artsy, independent reinvention. We feel that Brian Cox does not have the kind of star quality that maybe an actor like Philip Seymour Hoffman possesses in spades and whom could well save this film from being just a silent splash in the ocean.

2.5 STARS!

All about The Escapist

July 27, 2009

Before The Devil Knows You're Dead








Director - Sidney Lumet

Genre - Crime/Drama/Thriller


When giants fall, they go down hard don't they? Our love for cinema had been shaped, molded and preserved eons ago by a few of cinema's illuminating lighthouses. Kurosawa, Coppola, Lumet and Orson Welles were part of our formative influences culminating in our collective tastes in movies now. Thus, as one of the directors whom we look up to, Lumet was untouchable and beyond reproach. Sadly, with this latest offering, Lumet seems to be saying, "My game's up. I've no more tricks up my sleeve. It was a pleasure to enthrall you all but now I must leave the hall." What started out like a smart thriller/whodunit took a very wrong turn instead and ended up disastrously farcical. Come back to us, old friend. We still adore you and the magic you once weaved.

1.5 STARS!

All about Before The Devil Knows You're Dead

July 21, 2009

Across The Universe








Director - Julie Taymor

Genre - Adventure/Drama/Musical/Romance


They say those who don't like The Beatles don't really like music itself. We're pullin' your legs. Nobody said that but we at 1minutefilmreview believe that to be true somehow. They were highly inventive, magnificent songwriters and musicians who continue to inspire and bring happiness to generations of old and new devotees. This film not only utilized The Beatles' extensive catalogue of valued gems, it repackaged and reintroduced these hits again to new listeners. The actors are a bit too predictable in their parts for our tastes but the real stars here aren't them. The Beatles are front and center again and if you're a detractor (you're a fan of Akon and Shaggy aren't you? Come on, admit it), you won't like this. It's as simple as that.

3.5 STARS!

All about Across The Universe

July 14, 2009

A Very Short Life








Director - Dennis Law

Genre - Drama/Thriller


When we viewed this for 35 minutes, we were ready to write a great review for it. Unconventionally directed, with fine and polished acting... What could go wrong? Well, for one we were really put off by one ridiculous scene. We won't go into detail about this but what we will tell you is that fans of slasher/gore films might like it but definitely not us. It's a little like going on a date with a girl you fancy but finding out when you get to the place you booked dinner, it is packed to the brim for a 'One night only live telecast football event'. You go, "What the f*ck? What have I done wrong? I've been a good person, haven't I?"

3 STARS!

All about A Very Short Life

July 2, 2009

The Tracey Fragments








Director - Bruce McDonald

Genre - Drama


A kaleidoscope of moving images mapped out in a melange of split screens construct the story of a socially inept teenager. Tracey Berkowitz as played by sensational star of the moment Ellen Page faces a world fraught with resentment and apathy, emotions which are often perpetrated against her. Things come to a head when her younger brother goes missing. Page chalks up another performance which will help her maintain a formidable resume and this film adapted from Maureen Medved's novel of the same name feels like a major breakthrough in the art of movie making. For an indie, that sure is one hell of a coup.

4 STARS!

All about The Tracey Fragments

June 17, 2009

Once - Original Soundtrack







Music - Glen Hansard & Markéta Irglová

Genre - Soundtrack


We don't usually do this but we're just so enamored with this film and its sensational music that we just couldn't not put this review up. We wanted to eat and breathe this soundtrack. Water it and take it to work and play. It has taken over our thoughts for now and made us pine for the times when we don't get to listen to its melodious, incredulously well written treasures. If you're hankering for something to take you away from badly penned works like the Pussycat Dolls' annoying, demeaning to women songs...well, grab this NOW and you'll wish all your CDs were hot like this!

5 STARS!

All about Once (film & soundtrack)

June 16, 2009

Once








Director - John Carney

Genre - Drama/Music/Romance


Music has been one of the major driving forces in movies since way in the early stages of filmmaking. Chaplin relied much on music to break the silence and to convey hope, dreams and even the indomitable human spirit. Never in our not so young lives have we seen a love story embody a passion for music so strongly as in this small but effecting film. There is just so much fondness for what musicians live and breathe for (in this case - a portfolio of out-of-this-world songs) in the face of disparaging unacknowledgements that it actually uplifts the very core of what makes us go on with our existence.

4.5 STARS!

All about Once

YAM Issue 004

Haven't been really active here since January due to works and busy schedules.... Anyway, here it is again, the YAM (yetanothermagazine) Issue 004 from Amy. Check out how the Asian entertainment industry is invading the world with a storm in this issue! Here's the PDF link.


June 4, 2009

The Reader








Director - Stephen Daldry

Genre - Drama/Romance


Kate Winslet takes her kit off again. Wow. Anybody surprised at that? We think she actually has a special clause in each of her film contract which stipulates that she must have at least one scene requiring her to be completely free of fabric. It's like if she was in the 'X-Men' that would be her power. To numb people with her nudeness. Anyway, this film which won her a Best Actress Oscar (maybe the Academy felt she gave her all and more) features her as a lonely woman who seduces and beds one of the Jonas Brothers (no, kidding). Kathy Bates would have played a more convincing 'lonely woman', not covergirl material Winslet.

2.5 STARS!

All about The Reader

May 25, 2009

62nd Festival de Cannes Results

The official Jury of this 62nd Festival de Cannes, presided by Isabelle Huppert, revealed the Prize winners during the Closing Ceremonies on the evening of May 24th.


IN COMPETTION - FEATURE FILMS

Palme d'Or
DAS WEISSE BAND (The White Ribbon) directed by Michael HANEKE

Grand Prix
UN PROPHÈTE (A Prophet) directed by Jacques AUDIARD


Lifetime achievement award for his work and his exceptional contribution to the history of cinema

Alain RESNAIS


Best Director
Brillante MENDOZA for KINATAY

Jury Prize

FISH TANK directed by Andrea ARNOLD

BAK-JWI (Thirst) directed by PARK Chan-Wook

Best Performance for an Actor
Christoph WALTZ in INGLOURIOUS BASTERDS directed by Quentin TARANTINO

Best Performance by an Actress

Charlotte GAINSBOURG in ANTICHRIST directed by Lars von TRIER

Best Screenplay
MEI Feng for CHUN FENG CHEN ZUI DE YE WAN (Spring Fever) directed by LOU Ye

Prix Vulcain: Artist-Technician

Aitor BERENGUER, sound technician of the movie MAP OF THE SOUNDS OF TOKYO directed by Isabel COIXET.



IN COMPETITION - SHORT FILMS

Palme d'Or

ARENA directed by João SALAVIZA

Special
Distinction

THE SIX DOLLAR FIFTY MAN directed by Mark ALBISTON, Louis SUTHERLAND

CAMERA D'OR
SAMSON AND DELILAH directed by Warwick THORNTON (presented at Un Certain Regard)

Caméra d'Or – Special Distinction
AJAMI directed by Scandar COPTI, Yaron SHANI (presented at Quinzaine des Réalisateurs)


UN CERTAIN REGARD


Prix Un Certain Regard - Fondation Groupama Gan pour le Cinéma

KYNODONTAS (Dogtooth) by Yorgos LANTHIMOS

Jury Prize

POLITIST, ADJECTIV (Police, Adjective) by Corneliu PORUMBOIU.

Special Prize Un Certain Regard 2009

KASI AZ GORBEHAYE IRANI KHABAR NADAREH (No One Knows About Persian Cats) by Bahman GHOBADI

LE PÈRE DE MES ENFANTS (Father of My Children) by Mia HANSEN-LØVE


CINEFONDATION

First Cinéfondation Prize
BÁBA by Zuzana Kirchnerová-Špidlová (FAMU, République Tchèque)

Second Cinéfondation Prize
GOODBYE by Song Fang (Beijing Film Academy, Chine)

Third Cinéfondation Prize (ex aequo)
DIPLOMA by Yaelle Kayam (The Sam Spiegel Film & TV School, Israël)

NAMMAE UI JIP (Don't Step out of the House) directed by Jo Sung-hee (Korean Academy of Film Arts, Corée du Sud)


Source from Festival de Cannes


May 15, 2009

Natalie Portman's 'Making Of'



Natalie Portman and friend Christine Aylward have founded a new website the 'Making Of' which features behind the scenes and backstage material of film production and footage with photos, information and videos with interviews and details of current films in production. Get further details at the website's About page and enjoy this Natalie Portman interview video from makingof.com. And yes, we love it!

Vicky Cristina Barcelona








Director - Woody Allen

Genre - Drama/Romance


A cynical look at love and all the complications it entails. Allen gets us all worked up, hot and bothered over a foursome who have very differing views on coupling. Yet, it is this aspect of the film and of course, Allen's script which had us glued instantaneously. Javier Bardem plays a roving cad who exudes animalistic, musky charm but make no mistake, this film is all Rebecca Hall's. We think she will be a force to reckon with if given more chances in her acting career. She came on like boiling water here. Cold, lukewarm and then whoah mama! A star is born.

4 STARS!

All about Vicky Cristina Barcelona

May 5, 2009

Before Night Falls





Director - Julian Schnabel

Genre - Biography/Drama


Eccentric American artist turned filmmaker Julian Schnabel directed this piece of reel art. His sensibility is very European and curiously his films are stripped of anything even remotely resembling the style of an American production. Javier Bardem plays an aspiring writer in Cuba who is dealt a bad hand for being gay in a country which not only frown upon the inclination, it penalizes you severely for being one. Bardem is that rare actor who has an almost superhero-like ability to morph seamlessly into any given role.

5 STARS!

All about Before Night Falls

April 28, 2009

Lars Von Trier’s 'Antichrist' Trailer



“A glimpse into the dark world of my imagination, into the nature of my fears, into the nature of Antichrist.” Lars Von Trier. Yes, just click on the play button for the trailer, and it's creepy...... 'Antichrist' premieres in Cannes this year.

Source from Twitch.

April 23, 2009

62nd Festival de Cannes Lineup


Opening film
'Up'
Director: Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, U.S.

Closing film
'Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky'
Director: Jan Kounen, France

In Competition
'Bright Star'
Director: Jane Campion, Australia-U.K.-France

'Spring Fever'
Director: Lou Ye, China-France

'Antichrist'
Director: Lars Von Trier, Denmark-Sweden-France-Italy

'Enter the Void'
Director: Gaspar Noe, France

'Face'
Director: Tsai Ming-liang, France-Taiwan-Netherlands-Belgium

'Les herbes folles'
Director: Alain Resnais, France-Italy

'In the Beginning'
Director: Xavier Giannoli, France

'A Prophet'
Director: Jacques Audiard, France

'The White Ribbon'
Director: Michael Haneke, Germany-Austria-France

'Vengeance'
Director: Johnnie To, Hong Kong-France-U.S.

'The Time That Remains'
Director: Elia Suleiman, Israel-France-Belgium-Italy

'Vincere'
Director: Marco Bellocchio, Italy-France

'Kinatay'
Director: Brillante Mendoza, Philippines

'Thirst'
Director: Park Chan-wook, South Korea-U.S.

'Broken Embraces'
Director: Pedro Almodovar, Spain

'Map of the Sounds of Tokyo'
Director: Isabel Coixet, Spain

'Fish Tank'
Director: Andrea Arnold, U.K.-Netherlands

'Looking for Eric'
Director: Ken Loach, U.K.-France-Belgium-Italy

'Inglourious Basterds'
Director: Quentin Tarantino, U.S.

'Taking Woodstock'
Director: Ang Lee, U.S.

Out of Competition
'The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus'
Director: Terry Gilliam, Canada-France

'The Army of Crime'
Director: Robert Guediguian, France

'Agora'
Director: Alejandro Amenabar, Spain

Midnight screenings
'A Town Called Panic'
Director: Stephane Aubier, Vincent Patar, Belgium

'Ne te retourne pas'
Director: Marina de Van, France-Belgium-Luxembourg-Italy

'Drag Me to Hell'
Director: Sam Raimi, U.S.

Special screenings
'Petition'
Director: Zhao Liang, China

'L'epine dans le coeur'
Director: Michel Gondry, France

'Min ye'
Director: Souleyumane Cisse, France-Mali

'Jaffa'
Director: Keren Yedaya, Israel-France-Germany

'Manila'
Director: Adolfo Alix Jr., Raya Martin, Philippines

'My Neighbor, My Killer'
Director: Anne Aghion, U.S

Un certain regard
'Samson & Delilah'
Director: Warwick Thornton Australia

'Adrift'
Director: Heitor Dhalia Brazil

'The Wind Journeys'
Director: Ciro Guerra, Colombia

'Demain des l'aube'
Director: Denis Dercourt, France

'Irene'
Director: Alain Cavalier, France

'Independance'
Director: Raya Martin, Philippines-France-Germany

'Le Pere de mes enfants'
Director: Mia Hansen-Love, France-Germany

'Dogtooth'
Director: Yorgos Lanthimos, Greece

'Nobody Knows About the Persian Cats'
Director: Bahman Ghobadi Iran

'Eyes Wide Open'
Director: Haim Tabakman, Israel

'Mother'
Director: Bong Joon-ho, South Korea

'The Silent Army'
Director: Jean van de Velde, Netherlands

'To Die Like a Man'
Director: Joao Pedro Rodrigues, Portugal

'Police, Adjective'
Director: Corneliu Porumboiu, Romania

'Tales from the Golden Age'
Directors: Hanno Hofer, Razvan Marculescu, Cristian Mungiu, Constantin Popescu, Ioana Uricaru, Romania

'Tale in the Darkness'
Director: Nikolay Khomeriki, Russia

'Tzar'
Director: Pavel Lounguine, Russia-France

'Nymph'
Pen-ek Ratanaruang, Thailand

'Precious'
Lee Daniels, U.S.

Feature film jury
Isabelle Huppert (president), actress, France
Asia Argento, actress, director, screenwriter, Italy
Nuri Bilge Ceylan, director, screenwriter, actor, Turkey
Lee Chang-dong, director, author, screenwriter, South Korea
James Gray, director, screenwriter, U.S.
Hanif Kureishi, author, screenwriter, U.K.
Shu Qi, actress, Taiwan
Robin Wright Penn, actress, U.S.

Cinefondation and short-film jury
John Boorman (president), director, author, producer, U.K.
Bertrand Bonello, director, France
Ferid Boughedir, director, Tunisia
Leonor Silveira, actress, Portugal
Zhang Ziyi, actress, China

Visit Festival de Cannes
Source from Hollywood Reporter

April 20, 2009

Irréversible








Director - Gaspar Noé

Genre - Crime/Drama/Mystery/Thriller


Gaspar Noé's twisted movie is both innovative in structure and genre. Watching this, you'll feel that you've turned a wrong corner in a wrong side of town. It's unflinching in its depiction of the evil that humans do and our minds are forever fu*ked from the experience. Monica Bellucci shines in a daring and very difficult role. It is hard to imagine any Hollywood actress fearless enough to take on something like this.

5 STARS!

All about Irréversible

April 11, 2009

YAM Issue 003

Here it is, 'YAM' (yetanothermagazine) Issue 003 from Amy Wong! Enjoy, and check out its review of Peruvian film 'The Milk of Sorrow'. Here's the PDF link.

April 2, 2009

12 Angry Men








Director - Sidney Lumet

Genre - Drama


A murder had occurred and a jury of twelve men (why weren't there at least one woman? Maybe '12 Angry Citizens' didn't have as nice a ring to it) are called upon to pass judgment. As the day winds down to its last hours, no agreement is in sight and tempers are flared. Trapped in that little space together, all their ugly traits begin to surface. Kinda like a reality show, no? But unlike 'America's Next Top Bitch', this film although fictitious is starkly more real than Tyra Banks's tears.

4 STARS!

All about 12 Angry Men

March 21, 2009

Pulp Fiction








Director - Quentin Tarantino

Genre - Crime/Drama


This is the film that propelled Quentin Tarantino from indie auteur into a bonafide iconic director with megastar credentials. With an explosive script filled to the brim with pop culture anecdotes and funny observations on life, it is unmistakably a cinematic tour de force. All the actors in the ensemble cast are terrific, especially Samuel L. Jackson who was magnificiently badass. Factor in all that good stuff with a supercool soundtrack, and you have the perfect combo of indie aesthetics with mainstream appeal.

5 STARS!

All about Pulp Fiction

March 13, 2009

Trainspotting








Director - Danny Boyle

Genre - Comedy/Crime/Drama


This movie is Danny Boyle's finest and the one that illuminates his status in the filmmaking world. Harrowing, darkly humorous and swaggeringly cool, it's a film that warrants repeated viewings. The characters played by Ewan McGregor, Robert Carlyle and Jonny Lee Miller are memorable and endearing despite being drug fiends who would trade their own mothers for a fix if given a chance. Unbelievably creative use of cinematography and a fantastic soundtrack also gives this exhilirating film a definitive edge.

5 STARS!

All about Trainspotting

March 4, 2009

Even Dwarfs Started Small








Director - Werner Herzog

Genre - Comedy/Drama/Horror


On a secluded land, an asylum is taken over by its height-challenged patients. Wreaking and venting away at the confining, suffocating institution which has taken away every last bit of their freedom, these toy-like figures are more destructive than they seem. Werner Herzog's films have always been off kilter, their narrative structures oddly constructed and presented. This film moves like a demented train ride you have boarded in a dream, with the next stop nowhere in sight.

3.5 STARS!

All about Even Dwarfs Started Small

February 27, 2009

Be Kind Rewind








Director - Michel Gondry

Genre - Comedy


If this film put to light one thing, it is that Michel Gondry can't do funny. His penchant for the lighter, more carefree side of life as if seen through the eyes of an eternally childlike purveyor of fun and games look practically silly here. Jack Black's overzealous enthusiasm feels annoyingly like unwanted pool water in your ears after a swim and the script by Gondry is trite and slovenly. Most damning of all, the thrift store remakes of pictures like 'Ghostbusters' and 'Robocob' aren't even as hilarious as some people (presumably the same ones who found 'Hot Fuzz' humorous) make them out to be.

1.5 STARS!

All about Be Kind Rewind

February 19, 2009

Days of Heaven








Director - Terrence Malick

Genre - Drama/Romance


When a cinematic experience touches your soul, reaches into the innermost human aspect of what makes you breathe and live, it becomes so much more than mere entertainment. Terrence Malick's visceral visualization for this sprawling epic drowns out typical movie narrative structures, favoring a detached, not always explained plot line. Oddly enough, this actually plays to its advantage. As memorably potent as one's first conquest in love, this is a rebellious and unyielding masterstroke from the grandmaster of cinema.

5 STARS!

All about Days of Heaven

February 14, 2009

YAM Issue 002


Check out Amy Wong's 'YAM' (yetanothermagazine) Issue 002! Yet another great effort! For those who've missed out 'YAM' Issue 001, here's the link.

February 6, 2009

Serpico





Director - Sidney Lumet

Genre - Biography/Crime/Drama


Based on a true story. As a biopic, it probably stands to this day as one of the best, in-depth films on a person's life. Al Pacino takes on the role of an incorruptible cop who battles his own department and eventually the whole force in order to bring down bribery. Pacino not only goes through a wide range of hairdos and fashion changes, his range of emotions here will leave you insanely envious of his talents. In Lumet's safe hands, Pacino is like an acting phoenix, in flight with wings of ready tics and nuances that are blisteringly real.

5 STARS!

All about Serpico

February 2, 2009

Iron Man








Director - Jon Favreau

Genre - Action/Adventure/Sci-Fi


Robert Downey Jr. turns on the charm and everything else in this. He's suave, irreverent and loving every minute of it as a superhero and we're converted as well. Goodbye Spidey. You were alright but Tony Stark is a grown man you understand... Mr. Stark also doesn't waste time moping around like The Dark Knight or The Hulk. He is an attention-grabbin', egocentric genius and we love him for it. A nice diversion from the morose Batman and you have got to adore that suit! It's every man's metallic dream! Jon Favreau enters the big league with this and obliterates the awful memory of 'Zhatura'.

4 STARS!

All about Iron Man

January 23, 2009

Cloverfield








Director - Matt Reeves

Genre - Mystery/Sci-Fi


Some have compared this to 'The Blair Witch Project', a misconception of almost blasphemous proportions if we have anything to say about it. 'Blair Witch' was a gimmicky one trick pony which would just falter upon second viewing. This film however, is a smart reinvention of a genre which is done almost to death. Totally unlike others of its ilk, this movie will actually have you caring for its characters in their perilous situations. Taut action and a raw, on the ground feel make this a viewing priority.

4 STARS!

All about Cloverfield

January 18, 2009

The Happening






Director - M. Night Shyamalan

Genre - Mystery/Sci-Fi


The movie's title does little to explain the story. It could very well have been called 'The Occurrence' or 'The Incident' and we would still harbor a tinge of hope that M. Night might surprise us yet again. What we got instead was a story so reliant on its own inflated self-importance it just fell apart under the weight of its lofty aspirations. Shyamalan should have relinquished his duty as writer a long time ago and just direct. He peaked as a scribe for his earlier 3 films but now he needs to let go or it will ruin him.

2 STARS!

All about The Happening

January 11, 2009

Pitfall (Otoshiana)








Director - Hiroshi Teshigahara

Genre - Crime/Drama/Thriller


In this world whereby most humans subsist mostly on greed and the unending quest to one-up one another, there exists concrete threats to our livelihood and sometimes, even to our lives. Reports of senseless murders in the papers and internet almost every single day bear testament to this hard-hitting truth. Adapted from a novel by Kobo Abe, this thriller explores the darker side of humanity, peeling away layers of superficiality and simulated virtuousness to bring out mankind's most grotesque nature. Master director Hiroshi Teshigahara (The Face of Another & Woman In The Dunes) held nothing back, skillfully depicting what makes us tick, in life and even...out of life.

4 STARS!

All about Pitfall (Otoshiana)